ami-bovvered's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Promises

You've been heavy on my mind more than usual the past week or so. I don't know why; there isn't anything particularly special about this time of year. Maybe it's your oldest niece's upcoming graduation, and how much I wish you could be here for that. You would be so proud of her. But then, you always were. I remind them every now and then how very much you loved them. And you did. You loved them for the amazing kids they are, and simply for being my kids. I can still vividly hear you crying and begging me to not let them ever make the mistakes you made; to not let them turn out like their uncle. I promised you I wouldn't, much like the promise I made to you the day you left home when you again were crying and holding me and begging me to not let 'her' do to me what she did to you. Well, some promises are easier to keep than others, and the promise I made to you about my kids, that one I have kept. I feel you around me at times, and I feel you around the girls keeping them safe the way you tried to keep me safe. My protector, my hero.

That last unanswered phone call... it haunts me... I'm so sorry. I think you know this, because for some reason I could do no wrong in your eyes. But I should've answered the phone. I'd give anything to hear you say, "Hey little sister," one more time.

7:00 a.m. - 2011-05-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

flowermouth
lifesadream
invisibledon
journalmine