ami-bovvered's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feeling reeeeaaaalllllyyyy old

My first-born child graduates from high school next week. I just can't even wrap my brain around that. All the cliche "it seems like just yesterday she was..." apply here. But I don't understand how it happens so fast. I don't understand how it happens at all. It's still amazing to me how that itty bitty thing that was in my uterus is the same being that is the grown woman who still calls me "Mommy". She really is a woman, at thought that makes me want to run screaming through the neighborhood. A woman. I have a hard time referring to myself as 'woman' most days. Woman. Shit. She'll be 18 in about 2 1/2 weeks, so really she can be out on her own if she chooses to after that point. She's not that little 2 year old girl anymore who would spend hours with her little fire hydrant sprinkler, fascinated with using the hose on it to fill her shoes with water and then splashing it out with a good stomp. And running round and round it, giggling with such happiness whenever the spray of water would reach her. Taking the the hose and pointing it at me declaring, "I'm gonna spray you Mommy," even though it would only spray about 2 feet in front of her and I was a good 10 feet away, but she would laugh hysterically as if she soaked me. I used to try to imagine how she would look when she was grown up, what type of person she would be. The only things I knew for sure were that she would be intelligent, beautiful, and loved deeply. And I was correct on those things. The rest is really still forming. I don't think anyone ever stops evolving into different forms of themselves. But that is another topic for another day.

What I know today is that I love my daughter every bit as much now as I did the day she was born, she has never ceased to amaze me, and she still cracks me up on a nearly daily basis.

~Diane


[email protected]

6:50 a.m. - 2011-05-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

flowermouth
lifesadream
invisibledon
journalmine